What you sow, you reap: What you think, you become.

  • You will always harvest what you plant. Do not be deceived: God is not mocked, for whatever one sows, that will he also reap

-Galatians 6:7

Trying out different drugs with friends, you believe it to be ‘the life’…..Going out to parties late all dressed up, matching tattoos on waist-lines, hidden from your parents so you don’t get whipped for disobedience. Red lipsticks and the glossiest glosses over it, to woo the boys. Partying late night and sneaking into the house with an extra key always kept under the mat, because your mother doesn’t want your father to find out. Not getting enough time to sleep at home so you rush to work and take little power naps between breaks. Hangovers: lemon and lots of water. Tweeting and updating statuses about how you’re ‘detoxing’ yourself, becoming ‘self proclaimed’ awesome socialites. How long will this go on, and if it does, what results is it bound to give you?

Yeah sure, you remain happy for the time being. But have you forgotten the way we used to be happy long before drugs and technology ruined us? These ‘temporary blessings’ will only get you so far in life..without the connection with nature and the simplicities of life, you’re nothing. Having been a victim of ‘temporary happinesses’, I myself know how life fails to wait for you, and before you realize it, time’s left your side and it’s too late to get those times back, when you could’ve done something productive with your life.

Sooner or later, you get older and realize all the time that you wasted, could have been used in doing something productive.

May sound boring at the moment and you might go ‘wow, that’s a really boring way to spend life’, but hey, those friends of mine who started planning for their lives ahead no sooner than they turned 20, are successful after a period of five years’ turmoil. You want to know what happened to my friends who didn’t? They’re still in that same spot they were, 8-9 years back.

I’m not someone who’s achieved a LOT in life: I’m someone who wishes to. But having said that, it’s not like I haven’t achieved anything either. I worked a great job in the beginning when I had just graduated…but I wasn’t happy. I could’ve wasted time working as a ‘teacher’ in the field that I wasn’t meant to be in, but I quickly let go and came into the field of my choice.

Lesser money, less nicer working conditions, and don’t even ask WHERE I go to work (the most orthodox of places in Lahore). However, I earn okay and I am working in the field of my choice, and from here I’ll flourish. Why? Because I know I chose something that I loved doing, and I didn’t waste one second in the wrong job (where my heart wasn’t), as I could’ve never succeeded in being at the top in that particular place, because I wasn’t being true to myself.

It is fairly important for you to realize what it is exactly that you want to do in your life, and to just start as soon as possible. The rest will just follow. 🙂

I’ve always been a strong believer of will power and focus, and I still believe you can do anything that you want to in life, literally ANYTHING. You want to play the guitar? Pick up a guitar and start strumming. Someday it will all make sense. My brother is my biggest example. He is one of the best guitar players in Lahore, now moving on to singing as well.

My mother, a housewife, never believed in stepping out of the house unless there was a ‘need’. Then came the need, and she stepped out of the house. She thought she would never make it, and started out as a helper to my grandfather at his school. Today, she’s the director of Rah e Danish High School in Bedian, and 100 teachers work for her, with 5000 students in the school currently studying.

My dad was an exception, though. I think he became a doctor just because he had too much of a brain and it was the best possible field in which his ‘genius mind’ would have had peace. So yes, he still studies, anything complicated that relates to medicine, dopplers, ultrasounds, you name it he knows it. He’s one of the best doctors in the city and I am so proud of him as of this moment, there are NO doctors in the immediate family and he is the ‘pride’ in my eyes. The most genius man that I have EVER come across.

My sister was lazy once upon a time and now she’s a home maker: apart from herself, she takes care of her in-laws, her husband, her 5 year old son, and everyone around her. She cooks, she laundries, she cleans up after everyone in the house and she handles herself well. There is not a thing in the world that she couldn’t do, if she willed.

It is the same with everybody around, who believes ‘I can’t do this’. Everyone can do whatever the hell they want, they just need to believe and be confident and ‘practice’. That’s all you really need.

Having so many examples in front of me, it is fairly easy to understand why I am so positive about my idea of ‘what you sow, you shall reap’.

However, sometimes when I confront people, I see how their ‘auras’ are not so strong and they fall victim to the ‘various temporary enjoyments’ that they see in this life, failing to realize how these will bring about their very doom. I am not against fun and celebrations, I am against it becoming habitual, with little effort put into hard-work to be in a better state everyday.

What a better state might be, is different for everyone. For some, it might be the ‘temporary celebrations’ of life, for some, it might be the permanent ones, for which you have to suffer longer, be stronger than necessary, and forget about the temporary celebrations for the meantime.

A good friend of mine once told me ‘before getting upset, always ask yourself: will this even matter in six months, in a year, or in five years? If the answer is no, just LET IT GO.’

Yes, just let it go. Let go of all the stupid, silly things you care about right now. Let go of all the temporary celebrations (drugs, alcohol, swinging, pre-marital relationships, cheating, whatever it is that you’re doing) and focus on the things that will matter ‘five years from now’. If you want to be happy and not regret what you wasted your ‘YOUTH’ in, which you will at a point in life (when you realize you’re older and you should’ve done all those things that you wanted to when you were younger), start pulling your socks up and getting to it (whatever it is you want to do in your life in order to be successful, satisfied and at peace with yourself).

However, what I fail to understand is how people can just waste their lives, thinking that they have the ‘rest of their life ahead of them’. No. You don’t have time. Please get this in your head: TIME IS FLYING. So do what you have to: NOW. The time is right now, don’t waste it. Because in the end, what you will put into the universe, the universe will give you back. That is the ONLY law of nature.

Because at the end, you will have regrets. And if you realize right now that ‘you will reap what you sow’, you will live a very happy, non-regretful life. Start now!

young woman doing yoga,hand close-up

Leave a Reply

